Ladysmith chamber to address law and order

Rob Waters was elected the is the new Ladysmith and District Chamber of Commerce President in February.Waters, general manager of Ladysmith Marina, said he is taking time to work with his board and set a list of priorities“I’ve challenged the board members to think outside the box and come forward with ideas,” said Waters.Waters said he does have one issue that he wants to see addressed — law and order.Waters said he realizes the RCMP officers are working to their capacity, but noted after around 3 a.m., extra patrols need to be on the street.“We have a committee of four and we are going to contact the local staff sergeant and meet with him.”Waters said they want to find out what the chamber can do to help with reducing crime.A recent incident a couple of months ago at Ladysmith Marina highlight the need for more officers, said Waters.Officers from Ladysmith, Nanaimo and Duncan were able to apprehend a potential thief at the marina who dove into the water and tried to escape authorities.“I was pretty pleased with the response there, but there’s some people in this community who really don’t respect the rights of the citizens.”Law and order aside, Waters is looking forward to the annual golf tournament on June 24 which will raise  money for future chamber-run community projects.The chamber is also looking at relocating the visitor centre to the train station and is trying to pursue a lease.“The train station offers an access off the highway for parking of larger RVs,” said Waters, who also wants to see downtown parking better displayed.The chamber will also be looking to work with the Ladysmith Downtown Business Association and council to better understand the needs of the community and how they can help with new ideas.The chamber will also be looking at ways to help make Ladysmith a more opportune place to start a business.Waters also looks forward to working with his board, which includes: Rhonda Shirley, vice-president; Michael Furlot, treasurer; Cydni Beaulieu, secretary; Bill Eller, past-president; Linda Donahue, director; Kathy Holmes, director; Nita Grant, director; Rod Mac Neil, director; Paul Nettleton, director and; Simon Warne, director.