Nominations now open for BC Heritage Awards

Heritage BC’s Awards recognize best practices and high standards in heritage conservation

Know someone or a group that has done some outstanding heritage restoration or conservation over the last year?

Then you might want to submit their names to the 29th Heritage BC Awards for consideration in any of four categories: Heritage Conservation; Heritage Education and Awareness; Heritage Planning and Management, and the Ruby Nobbs Volunteer Award.

There are also different levels for the awards categories: Outstanding Achievement, Honour, and Recognition.

“Heritage BC’s Awards recognize best practices and high standards in heritage conservation, based on the national Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada,” says an HBC release.

“The awards also emphasize innovation and commitment to heritage conservation that also contributes to environmental, economic, social, and/or cultural sustainability.”

Says HBC Executive Director Kathryn Malloy, “We are especially proud of the addition of climate change mitigation and adaptation to this year’s criteria, offering opportunity for projects to showcase how heritage buildings can be models of energy efficiency and climate action.”

Projects nominated for an award must have been completed within the past three calendar years.

Heritage BC award winners receive a special framed certificate, acknowledgement on the HBC website and in all its publications.

Awards will be presented at a ceremony and gala to be held in Vancouver during Heritage Week this February. Nominations can be submitted online at until Friday, Dec. 18.


Just Posted

Volunteers take down after another successful Ladysmith Festival of Lights

Good crowd comes out for a sunny Sunday volunteer session of taking down decorations

Blood moon over Ladysmith

Gerry Beltgens shook off cold fingers this weekend to capture this image… Continue reading

Reflections of Ladysmith: The Art of Michael Dean

Work, place and people are inseparable for Vancouver Island painter

Ladysmith business recognized for supporting diversity in the workplace

Ladysmith Home Hardware, Ladysmith Pharmasave, LRCA, and Maya Norte saluted

Editorial: Looking back at windstorm helps us prepare for next time

BC Hydro says it was the most destructive storm in its history

UPDATE: B.C. legislature managers accused of excessive travel, expenses

Speaker Darryl Plecas’ report details ‘flagrant overspending’

Parole granted for drunk driver who killed B.C. RCMP officer

Kenneth Jacob Fenton will be able to attend alcohol abuse treatment, nearly three years after crash that killed Const. Sarah Beckett

Anti-pipeline group wants NEB to consider impact of emissions, climate change filed NEB motion asking to apply same standard to the project as it did with Energy East pipeline

B.C. man charged in 2014 snake venom death of toddler

Henry Thomas was taking care of the North Vancouver girl the day before she died

B.C.’s largest public-sector union wants inquiry into money laundering, drugs

Union officials say Premier John Horgan and Attorney General David Eby have not ruled out the possibility of a public inquiry

Teen in confrontation with Native American: I didn’t provoke

Nick Sandmann of Covington Catholic High School said he was trying to defuse the situation

Vancouver Island senior dies after medical emergency and rollover crash

Incident happened Saturday in Nanaimo on Poplar Street

MARS seeing influx of sick, injured eagles from north part of Vancouver Island

Factors for increase in eagle cases can be anything from lead poisoning to vehicle strikes

Suspect allegedly armed with handgun robs Island gas station

Incident occurred Sunday night in Nanaimo

Most Read