Skip to content

Hutchins to return to mayor's seat for another term

Ladysmith retains current mayor and brings three new faces to council

Preliminary election results show Ladysmith will retain current mayor Rob Hutchins and bring three new faces to council.

With 1,303 votes, Hutchins easily secured his seat over newcomer Regan Grill, who received 473 votes.

Town council will be a mix of the old and new as incumbent councillors Duck Paterson (1,276 votes), Steve Arnett (1,098 votes) and Jill Dashwood (973 votes) held on to their seats and candidates Bill Drysdale (951 votes), Gord Horth (948 votes) and Glenda Patterson (1,109 votes), a former councillor, made the cut.

This year's election saw a near six per cent raise in voter turnout, up to 29 per cent, from 23.

Keep tuned to Tuesday's Chronicle for more details and reaction from the candidates.

Secondary Title